Bio

Standard

scan0002IMG_2858

The gardening bug bit me when I was 7 or 8.  Dad started a vegetable garden in the back yard. The mail order company always included free seeds which he gave to my sister and I ( I am on the right)  The seeds were the flowers, cosmos and zinnias. I threw them in the ground and that was it until one day my Granny came to visit.  “Robin come see what you have grown!”  It was  probably July or August and imagine to my surprise flowers.

Fast forward 18 years.  Mom and Dad bought a small farm raising everything from apples to sheep. PBS had started a new series the” Victory Garden”. It was on every Saturday sandwiched between” This Old House”and ” Julia Child”.  Their garden exploded including 100 apple trees.  Homestead Orchard was created.They started a little store out of one of the outbuilding selling vegetables, dried flowers, and the most glorious home grown apples. This is were I learned everything about plants.

scan0010Dcp00895

Leave a Reply

